The Anthering Herb Garden
Around 350 different medicinal plants
Around 350 different medicinal plants were planted on this 1000 mē large, sunny plot of land in the center of town. A so-called "Farmer's Garden" was also established, featuring plants typical of the region incl. milfoil, asters and sunflowers. A wetlands biotope and a rose hill highlighting 17 different wild roses, complete this unique garden.
Free info brochure is available at the Tourist Office, village hall and the Raiffeisenbank. The herb garden is always open to the public, with additional information and guided tours available by arrangement through: Frieda Aigner, telephone (06223) 22 10.
Hammersmith and Smithy Museum
Experience living traditions and handicrafts
The former hammersmith in Acharting at the foot of the Haunsberg affords visitors the opportunity to experience living traditions and handicrafts. Nowadays, it is a hotel with a banquet room for romantic celebrations and social events. In one corner, visitors will discover the small Smithy Museum providing fascinating insights into the building's history.
Anthering Parish Church
Church consecrated in honor of the Assumption of Mary, "Maria Himmelfahrt"
Already mentioned in the "congestum" of Archbishop Arno, this church, the "Ecclesia cum territorio ad Anteringas", is amongst the 67 original churches of the Bishopric of Salzburg. This encompassed the counties of Salzburggau, Chiemgau, Isengau and Inntal. The very first structure was a church built of wood, destroyed during Magyar raids some time after 900 AD.
In the 12th century, a Romanesque church was built. Remnants of this can still be found in the lower portion of the west tower with a round arch and zigzag frieze, as well as a masonry double window in the tower. Today's structure is Late Gothic, dating back to the 15th century, with the tower being raised and an onion dome added in 1775. The current bell storey and onion dome are Baroque
A beautiful Gothic porch is located on the south side, with 3 pointed-arch arcades on 2 octagonal stone pillars. Beneath the choir is a crypt, with an originally Late Gothic net vault and an immured Romanesque altar stone.
On September 11, 1999, the parish was able to celebrate a very special event: local associations had financed the acquisition of three new bells, which were consecrated on this day.